Will He Dance? Chapter Two


Here is the first draft of Chapter Two. I am still waiting to interview Tad’s doctor to verify his backstory, so expect some changes. If this is your first viewing, you may want to read chapter one, which is still available.

Huge shout out to Dani for finding the title. I didn’t see that one coming!

Again, any and all critiques are welcomed and encouraged. Please post all responses here. I don’t want to disturb Lynn’s blog. Thanks again!

Chapter Two – LET THE GAMES BEGIN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Will He Dance? Chapter Two

  1. Dani says:

    Thank you Squirrels that was so sweet of you to give me a shout out. Excellent chapter two I wanted to read more when I was finished. Again I can’t wait for the next chapter. Your writing is fantastic and the book is going to be a huge success.

  2. Shana p says:

    Your determination brings tears to my eyes. Although my son’s challenges are with mental illness, I can relate so well to searching down every avenue and not taking no for an answer. Awesome 2nd chapter!

  3. Noelle says:

    In a word…powerful!
    High marks for staying organized in your thoughts while doing so in a time frame.(ex: a..b..c then d..)
    Continue with each chapter and don’t critique/edit until you have a draft of your book. That way you’ll have an overview to do with it what you want: edit, expand on info/ points, or delete minor for major info altogether.
    You definitely have a compelling story to tell and one that I want to hear.
    Also love the name in consideration “Will He Dance?”
    I think that title alone will draw readers to your story.

  4. Laura aka Just done says:

    Squirrels – I love reading what you write, you do it so beautifully. Your story is powerful, and I know about the struggles with insurance companies. Keep writing, you are inspiring so many with your words. Your son is very lucky to have you and your husband as his advocate. I look forward to reading Chapter 3.

  5. boston02127 says:

    Thank you for your story Squirrels. You are a fighter. Wonderfully written story.
    I look forward to Ch 3.

  6. WoW! The funny thing is that any time I have a roadblock, my mom always tells me to call some politician or another, and I always think, “how could that help?”
    I love how your persistence paid-off. (literally ha ha)
    Getting back to the title, I figured out why its so perfect. It was the moment when you accepted the situation, and you shared it with us, and brought us into the story.
    Two down-another 7 or so, and you have your book!
    And you’re off to a great start.
    Thank-you for sharing it with us squirrel, when do we get to learn more about Tad?
    Ha ha-I can just hear you being like the HW-“Buy the book!”
    I have a German Dr. myself and I love that you include that part. My doctor is also a very kind person, but it took me awhile to get over my prejudice with the accent.

  7. Squirrels says:

    housewifehater – I promise it gets lighter from here. We battle the school system and make major educational changes, which work. Next chapter is about the stunts Tad pulls as a toddler. Mundane, but amusing I hope. Thanks for your input. I’ve written 3 books, all how to’s and only half heartedly self published. This one I’m going for it. Were it not for you (plural), I may not have done it. I am most grateful to you all. Come what may, at the least it will be something I can leave to my family.

  8. viki55 says:

    Can you post the picture? I would love to see it. Looking forward to the next chapter. Thanks so much for sharing such an inspiring story.

    • Squirrels says:

      I’m trying to find it. It’s in a box marked…. box. With the amt of photos I have to sift through (the curse of being a photographer) I’m bound to come across it in the next week. If i don’t, please send a posse, since I’m more than likely stuck in a small walk in closet with no food or water, just memories.

      😀

    • Squirrels says:

      Found it Viki, a lousy screen shot, as I no longer have a photo scanner, but Tad and I are far left, Tad “standing” on the desk. If you click on it, it reverses. Beats me, all this new tech stuff. That said, it will find its way into the book I imagine. Meanwhile your request still has me busy looking for a cover shot, etc. I forgot how much we accumulate over generations. lol.

  9. Wall St Lady says:

    I am new at posting & consider Lynn my home. (Although I posted 3Xs today & non have appeared ; hope I am not blocked 😦 ?) Anyway I couldn’t help but notice ur clever posts so I hit ur name to
    Happily discover ur blog. I assume ur son is in his 20’s. I hope so. I am intreeged. I am sure your journey will be invaluable for parents of DS. Aren’t u in minorty to have DS child when u were so young. I am already sweet on Tad. I have to tell u I am terrified he could keep my heart in his chubby hands forever so I almost want to stop reading & leave him in 1984 still close to a perfect infant. Sorry I am crying. Gotta go

    • Squirrels says:

      TY WSL. If you posted late on Lynn’s blog they can get lost. She get’s appx 300 posts per blog and the system can only handle so much without going haywire. Tad is now 25 and yes, i was not in the age bracket whereby an amnio would be suggested. That said, most DS surprise births happen in the 16-24 age range. Regardless of age, no one knows why DS occurs. Some researchers speculate, but it remains an anomaly without a reason.

      Thank you for reading. If you have any critique of my writing, please do not hesitate. It’s my first book beyond, how to’s and at times I feel lost.

  10. wall St Man says:

    I am soooooooo hapy to hear Tad is well !!!!!!! Please give him a big hug for Wall St Lady & tell him I wish I had a son JUST LIKE him. U r an angel. I bet your wings are just as beautiful as u & Tad

  11. wall St Man says:

    WSLady thinks “Will He Dance” will be a NYT Best Seller ! She hopes to buy a box to give to every mother or hope to be mother she loves. (BTW WS Lady has MANY peps who love her)Thanks again for opening your blog to us.

    • Squirrels says:

      TY wall St Man. Your words are very touching. While I’m tempted to tell you what the lad is up to now, I think it might act as a spoiler and I don’t want to do that. Suffice to say, Tad is one of the happiest people on the planet, and deservedly so. The joy he brings to all who meet him is palpable, right down to girls he tries to impress with his, “I like your hair,” pick up line.

  12. KirksvilleMo says:

    Such a touching and well written story!
    My husbands youngest brother has DS and he graduated HS at 21 and is working and happy at 41.He lives with a niece and her family for the past 10years since his father died and he has really blossomed.His mother died when he was only10 and his father was pretty smothering in his desire to take good care of him.
    Looking forward to the next installment!
    Billie in Kirksville,Mo.
    ps.Tads mommy is quite a looker!

    • Squirrels says:

      lol @ looker. Smoke and mirrors girl. I’m a photographer who knows how to pull back lens wise.

      As to your nephew, the strength they exhibit puts we poor “got it all going on” mortals to shame. There isn’t a day goes by when I don’t think, how lucky was I? How lucky is he? That’s not to say Tad doesn’t have his moments of being a piss ant. It’s just that his moments are genuine, with zero pretension and very short lived. His honesty keeps me more balanced. Who the hell am I to complain about a bad day? Not that I don’t have those moments, just that knowing Tad helps to keep me grounded. I don’t always succeed, but I also don’t sweat my limitations anymore. PS. I no longer own that beautiful oriental wool carpet. No more fringe to comb. What the hell was I thinking? LOL.

  13. Kelly_Has_Big _shoulders says:

    Squirrels I have no words for your courage. I stumbled on your writing and its inspirational. Please keep writing yoour story.

Leave a Reply

