Will He Dance, Chapter Three

I’m hoping by putting this chapter next it transitions ok. Let me know folks. All comments are welcome here. Thanks much!

Chapter Three – HERE COMES TROUBLE

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Will He Dance, Chapter Three

  1. Wall St Lady says:

    Fun I feel like I just came home from a trip to the petting zoo. Ok besides the fact that every time I say “Will he dance” I cry I have a ? When did Kara come on the scene & how did Tad take to her ? How was her birth & did u have any fear of birth complications ?
    Funny when u described the rabbit I had to re read cuz I thought Kara had a “neanderthal”ear then I realized its a type of rabbit.
    Did u ever successfully go back to the aquarium. All in all I can say : I had fun & learned how normal a Tad child can b if u roll w/the punches. I believe ur story can b a great encouragement to any parent of a special child.
    Waiting for 4 πŸ™‚

    • Squirrels says:

      Kara makes her appearance in Chapter 4. Check in on Friday as that is my goal. The thoughts about complications arrise there. Tad and I went back to the aquarium in 2008, but no sea lion show. It may have been closed temporarily, I’m not sure as I didn’t press the issue.

      Thanks for your and WSM’s support. Hope you are feeling better!

  2. Laura aka Just done says:

    What a great chapter…it takes me back to the days when my son was a toddler. He too didn’t (and still doesn’t) like tags in his clothes. It took a while for me to figure that out. Keep writing, I’m crying and laughing with every chapter.

  3. Kat says:

    I loved reading this. I wish it were longer. Seriously, you might consider adding to this chapter.

    • Squirrels says:

      I agree it’s short. I will probably add the in between of learning to crawl and finally walking. He had one of those scooter things on wheels (baby walker?) and tore around the joint like on a mission for first place in the demolition derby. Along with his hearing and speech issues. Thanks for the feedback. It’s invaluable.

  4. sweet pea says:

    Your story is beautiful and so are you and your family. You are a wonderful mother and person. I think that your words can help many people. Just wanted to let you know that you made me smile today.

  5. anniieee says:

    What an amazing story. You are truly beautiful inside and out. I had a friend who experienced the same situation as you. As her friend, I was at a loss as to what to say–but was always willing to help with physical training, listening and most importantly for her–baby breaks– so she could have time for herself. I found this and had it framed for her. I hope I am not offending–I can never read it without tears of grief and joy. Your book will be an amazing help for other young mothers. It is so gentle and heartfelt. Thanks so much for sharing..I look forward to the next chapter.

    Annie

    Welcome To Holland
    by
    Emily Perl Kingsley

    I am often asked to describe the experience of raising a child with a disability – to try to help people who have not shared that unique experience to understand it, to imagine how it would feel. It’s like this……

    When you’re going to have a baby, it’s like planning a fabulous vacation trip – to Italy. You buy a bunch of guide books and make your wonderful plans. The Coliseum. The Michelangelo David. The gondolas in Venice. You may learn some handy phrases in Italian. It’s all very exciting.

    After months of eager anticipation, the day finally arrives. You pack your bags and off you go. Several hours later, the plane lands. The stewardess comes in and says, “Welcome to Holland.”

    “Holland?!?” you say. “What do you mean Holland?? I signed up for Italy! I’m supposed to be in Italy. All my life I’ve dreamed of going to Italy.”

    But there’s been a change in the flight plan. They’ve landed in Holland and there you must stay.

    The important thing is that they haven’t taken you to a horrible, disgusting, filthy place, full of pestilence, famine and disease. It’s just a different place.

    So you must go out and buy new guide books. And you must learn a whole new language. And you will meet a whole new group of people you would never have met.

    It’s just a different place. It’s slower-paced than Italy, less flashy than Italy. But after you’ve been there for a while and you catch your breath, you look around…. and you begin to notice that Holland has windmills….and Holland has tulips. Holland even has Rembrandts.

    But everyone you know is busy coming and going from Italy… and they’re all bragging about what a wonderful time they had there. And for the rest of your life, you will say “Yes, that’s where I was supposed to go. That’s what I had planned.”

    And the pain of that will never, ever, ever, ever go away… because the loss of that dream is a very very significant loss.

    But… if you spend your life mourning the fact that you didn’t get to Italy, you may never be free to enjoy the very special, the very lovely things … about Holland.

    * * *

    Β©1987 by Emily Perl Kingsley. All rights reserved. Reprinted by permission of the author.

    • Squirrels says:

      It’s funny you mention Emily. Not only did I meet her back then, I loved the work she did via Sesame Street and her son Jason’s career. Cute kid, too. She paved the way for many families like my own. The first time I saw Jason on Sesame Street, I cried with joy.

      Parents of children bon with DS born as late as the late 70’s were more often than not told to place their children in institutions and tell your family the baby died. I kid you not. Without the ferocious tenacity of folk like Emily, some idiot doctor could have advised me with the same option.

      • anniieee says:

        This young lady was born in 1977..and was blessed with a mom with tenacity and a special ed. degree. Gail was told to institutionalize Jen and refused. She did a beautiful slide show about her daughter’s life that I will try and find the link to. We were stationed together in Holland (how ironic) when Jen was born. It is such a tribute to both Jen and HER MOTHER!! xox

      • Squirrels says:

        Awesome. Please let me know when you find the slide show. I’d love to see it.

    • sweet pea says:

      What a great analogy (Holland). Really hits home. My second pregnancy was later in life. My Doc told me that there was a chance of me having a Down baby. The amnio showed that instead of Down, I was having twins (another by-product of late pregnancy). I only hope that if my child would have had Down Syndrome, I would have handled it with the grace and love that you show, Squirrels. You are an inspiration to motherhood. Tad seems like a wonderful human being.

      • Squirrels says:

        TY for your short story. Gave me chills… in the best sense. As to being an inspiration? I beg no one hands me flowers. I screwed up plenty of times. I’m not my own Dalai Lama.

        Maybe this is the time for me to just write. That would be the easy way out. Yet, without your own stories and support, I would be at a loss. The story I tell is not unique. It is a quilt, woven from many pieces of fabric I have never had the chance to caress.

  6. A ha, finally got to meet the Tadster! Another great chapter, and besides learning about Tad & his development, which is really interesting, I love the hints about Skin-So-Soft, I’m going to get some.
    I can just picture him zipping-around in his walker. I like how you ended the chapter too.

  7. tracylyn42 says:

    so far so very good. I really liked that you included background on the doctor. It took the focus off your family for a few paragraphs and I thought was great for the flow of the story. When you go into detail about other pertinent people or organizations our involved in your life and Tads life, it helps me get more of a feel for what you all are feeling. Looking forward to more of your life in words!!

  8. Dani says:

    Thank you Squirrels for sharing your story with all of us. It is so beautifully written and you are an amazing writer. Each time I read a chapter I don’t want it to end. It leaves me looking forward to the next chapter. You are such a wonderful, loving mother and I know this from reading your story.

  9. anniieee says:

    Looking forward to Friday! Can’t wait..it is an amazing story.

    • Squirrels says:

      anniieee – Hope it will be done. 1/2 way through now.

      I had to delete your link. Not your fault, I posted my name on it and would rather remain anon for now. If you can delete my last name, please, please please repost it here. Sorry for the inconvenience.

      xo,

      The Chowda Head

  10. Squirrels says:

    anniieee my sweet:

    It isnt’ the post itself, its the fact I put my full name on my response/comment to the video. At this point I wish to keep that private. Robin J would be fine. I’m sorry I was not clear as to my concern.

    Hugs, Kisses and adoration for your dedication to those you love.

  11. Noelle says:

    More, More, More!!!!

    I’m speechless.

    You’re an amazing woman.

  12. zoekayla says:

    I also like the background info about the doctor and his story of how DS touched his life both personally and professionally. The story of how Dukakis and Kennedy became touchpoints for help in navigating the insurance system was also very interesting. If you continue to weave these stories into your family’s stories, the book will be very powerful. I didn’t see any of the photos that you referenced – did you post them or just describe them? Just wondering if my computer is not reading them for some reason. I wanted to see that seersucker jacket πŸ™‚
    On to chapter 4…

Leave a Reply

