Will He Dance? Prologue

The following is a draft of a book I am working on.

I’d love feedback. What doesn’t flow, what’s missing, etc.

Thanks for reading.

To read chapter one, please go to July archives. Thanks again.

Will He Dance?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Will He Dance? Prologue

  1. Kat says:

    I love that you kept that letter for all these years!
    The empathy and concern you had for the new young mother is indicative of a generous caring nature. You’re an awesome woman. I’m not just kissing butt either when I say that.

    I hope you consider writing more about your past growing up. It provides insight into you and it is your voice narrating these pages. Maybe that is beyond the scope of your book and I enjoy reading…. so I might be way off with that suggestion.

    I just checked in here, I didn’t see a post about this new blog addition.
    I think you have my email address from me posting to your blog. Feel free to email anytime.
    8)

  2. Noelle says:

    This is something special.
    My hat off to you!
    Keep it coming, don’t stop!

  3. boston02127 says:

    Aug 30
    Dear Squirrels, I just read the posts from last night. I’m so sorry. I’m hoping Lynn does not post the guest blog or maybe she speaks to her about her insensative words. I do hope you’re ok, you’re a wonderful person who is loved and respected by so many of us on the blog. Be well and I hope you come back. Love, Shanna/Boston

    • Kat says:

      I agree Boston! I’m late catching up with the posts and am frustrated by the developments.
      Squirrels, I heart you.

  4. boston02127 says:

    Squirrels, I’d like to share this link. My school was involoved with this and I think it’s a great thing to Spread the Word to End the Word.

    http://www.specialolympics.org/03-31-09_Spread_the_Word.aspx

    • Squirrels says:

      Thanks Boston. Special Olympics is near and dear to me. Not so much Tad. It took nearly 20 years to get him to participate willingly. He HATES losing anything, he doesn’t care who the adversary is, it’s just how he rolls.

      • boston02127 says:

        Squirrels, Did you notice on that link the pledge? About a year ago my school took the pledge. I have a t-shirt that says “Spread the Word to End the Word”.

        PS–You’re missed on the blog. 😦

      • Squirrels says:

        That is awesome. I had no idea there was an actual campaign. I sketched out in my head a PSA using people with disabilities. Now I may have to finish the script and send it to them via facebook. Thanks for hooking me up and congratulations on your school’s participation. Between that and Best Buddies it’s your generation who continue to show compassion, caring and simply put, help people keep their dignity.

  5. Dani says:

    I miss you on the blog Squirrels, I don’t often comment on there because you always write whatever I am thinking. I hope that you will comment soon on last nights reunion. I am anxious to read what you thought. I have read every chapter of Will He Dance, sometimes 2 and 3 times. Each chapter that comes out I pass onto my BFF that has a little guy by the name of Mason that has Down syndrome. You will never know how much you have inspired her and even though I don’t know you I love you for what you have given to both of us by writing this book. Thank you Squirrels and God bless you and your family.

    • Squirrels says:

      Thank you Dani, my Title Muse. I’m working on the next chapter now. It’s not coming easily, due to subject matter, but I’ll get it done. Every parent has a different perspective, as well they should. I applaud your BFF. I suspect she believes in her child, and frankly that’s 9/10ths of the battle. The rest is pure perseverance, a bit of luck, and a dash of Oh don’t even go there.

      😀

      • Dani says:

        As always Squirrels I am looking forward to your next chapter. I know you will get it done and it will be beautifully written because it always comes from your heart.

  6. Kat says:

    Squirrels,
    I miss ya. I haven’t read the recent JZ blogs so I don’t know if you’ve posted but I’ll be looking for you here and there. I’m anxious to read your next chapter but I realize writing can’t be rushed. Heck I struggle to find words when I write posts and emails. 🙂

    I’ll be looking for Rocky and swerving cars… I might have to look as far as Nova Scotia but atleast I’ll enjoy the scenery and the mystified Geico Insurance adjusters.
    8)

    • Squirrels says:

      LOL. You are just too funny. I’ll be sure to wag my tail to warn you. Don’t want to see you bamboozled by a bunch of fuzzy tail pranksters!

      • Kat says:

        But…but…aren’t you their leader, our leader? Kats are fuzzy too you know! (Oops I meant cats. 😉 ) Darn it, I shouldn’t have drunk your kool-aid, it’s making me squirrelly.

        One of my neighbors may be moving and I complained to her that I wasn’t up to training new neighbors, however if you’ll share the recipe I could always share some kool-aid with them.

  7. I miss you too Squirrels. -But at least I know where to find you, and I like that I found more to your story. I liked chapter 4 too.

  8. zoekayla says:

    Hi Squirrels!
    I am glad to be here. I look forward to reading your words about your son. As a career educator, I worked with all varieties of kids…my own son had a disability that required me to intervene on his behalf. It was most heartbreaking to have to fight for what he needed as someone “on the inside” and to realize that I did indeed have to fight for him to get what he needed. I cannot begin to imagine how difficult your journey must have been, but if we share anything it is the certainty that our actions/struggles were necessary in order to get a measure of justice for our dear boys.
    I found, through the years, that students who received accommodations were gifts for us teachers. They made us better teachers and enriched our lives so much. I rejoiced even more when accomplishments were realized for students who were working harder and longer for each milestone.
    When my son graduated from high school, he said that the one thing that got him through the whole process was knowing that I believed in him and never gave up on him. He had a lot of self-hate and insecurities that had to be overcome in his middle school and high school years (as he contemplated a life of “less than”). He retreated somewhat into his computer gaming, which ended up becoming his true strength. To this day he is a genius on the computer and works as a senior engineer at Microsoft. He is married with two beautiful sons. His wife, who was valedictorian of her HS class and a top graduate in her university, once told me that “if we are lucky our son will be dyslexic like his dad”. She considers my son to be a true genius…this boy who once believed he was too stupid to succeed in life.
    Squirrels, I am not comparing our children, but I do resonate with the struggles and decisions you made in your quest to provide your little boy with his best opportunities.
    On another note, we miss you over on Lynne’s blog. I hope to see you posting there again soon. You are a name I look for each day. The “guest” blogger, while dipping into the obscenity pool, did avoid disrespectful language in her characterizations of the housewives. We read her words and moved on into our own discussions. She had very little impact. You, on the other hand, offer so much to the convos there….we miss you!
    I look forward to reading each chapter of your personal journey.

  9. Squirrels says:

    If you care to read Chapter One, please go to the July archives.

  10. boston02127 says:

    Hi Squirrels, Just thought I’d check in and say hi. I miss your posts on Lynn’s blog soooo much. I hope everything is good with you. Chat soon.
    Luv, Shanna

  11. boston02127 says:

    Sept 27
    Hi Squirrels, Love this blog. I’m hooked on your story. Love to you & your family.
    Miss you.
    Luv, Shanna

  12. TheDesignDiva says:

    Hey there Squirrels…just clicked on your name over at the other site and found this..Will have to come back and read from page ONE on my day off from work…Looks interesting….
    Love the car in the photo…RED is my favorite color ina vehicle.
    VAROOM….
    TheDesignDiva

  13. Wall St Lady says:

    Hi there
    I met ur friend
    Lisa. Bobby never herd of her so he took her #

Leave a Reply

